Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
62

"The Moment We Become a Christian Nation, We Will Cease to be America"

An interview with Christian nationalism expert Andrew Seidel.
62

I had a podcast called the Dirt Road Democrat for a little over a year and then life happened. I have been meaning to start it up again, but with election season, I just haven’t found the time. I loved interviewing people though. Smart people. People who knew more than me about topics I wanted to learn more about.

This is one of those episodes.

I recorded this at the beginning of the year with Andrew Seidel on Christian nationalism and the separation of church and state. As you know, both topics are relevant to the times we are living through.

I have been thinking about this daily as I see local churches and GOP lawmakers weaponizing Christianity against the Democratic Party and abortion.

I read Seidel’s The Founding Myth last year and I could not get enough of it — I am surrounded by folks who constantly point to the myth that our country was founded on Biblical and Christian principles. Andrew dispels this myth.

He also goes into detail about what we can do to counter Christian nationalism. It’s the answers we’ve been looking for.

“America will never be a Christian nation because the moment it becomes a Christian nation it will cease to be America.”

~Andrew Seidel

Biography: Andrew L. Seidel is a constitutional and civil rights attorney, activist, and former Grand Canyon tour guide. He has a B.S. in neuroscience and a few law degrees, each with academic honors and awards. His first book, The Founding Myth: Why Christian Nationalism is Un-American, ended the debate about whether America was founded as a Christian nation or not.

Andrew has appeared on outlets from MSNBC to Fox News. When he’s not fighting Christian Nationalism as one of the country’s leading experts on the subject, he is probably writing or speaking about American history, the Constitution, religion, the law, his books, religious freedom, and why America needs national recommitment to the separation of church and state.

You can find Andrew on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

Leave a comment

I hope you enjoy this interview as much as I did.

Solidarity, friends.

~Jess

Discussion about this podcast

The View from Rural Missouri by Jess Piper
The View from Rural Missouri by Jess Piper
Authors
Jess Piper